Oatmeal Blondie

Oatmeal Blondie

So participating in the vegan challenge has been harder than I thought. I assumed it would be easy since I am a vegetarian; I also never drink milk and rarely eat eggs. I thought I was just going to miss cheese. I am shocked at how much food that I normally eat contains milk, butter, and eggs. Surprisingly I am not missing cheese as much as I thought I would. But the thing I miss the most is my whey protein powder. If I ever felt low on protein I would make a smoothie with whey protein powder, but now that I am eating vegan I can’t drink whey. I have tried soy protein powders and have been disappointed, they seem grittier than whey. So this morning when I was feeling low on protein I decided to try something a little wacky, a little crazy, maybe even a little weird…… I put beans in my oatmeal! But trust me it’s awesome! Try it you might like it! (A famous quote I give to my kids) This recipe yields approximately two servings, or one adult and two small children, or one very hungry adult (like me this morning.)

Oatmeal Blondie

1 cup cooked oatmeal
½ cup white beans (cannellini)
½ large banana
¼ cup ground flax
2 tablespoons sugar (can substitute agave or maple syrup)
1 tablespoon vegan margarine (regular butter can also be used)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/3 teaspoon baking soda
Sprinkles (optional)
Directions:
1. Combine all ingredients, except sprinkles, in a food processor. Blend until all ingredients are combined and there are no signs of beans or banana chunks. Put into bowl and sprinkle with sprinkles if desired. Enjoy!

Leave a comment