Protein Packed Oatmeal

Image

This oatmeal gives me energy to get me through the morning and it keeps me full for hours. And since there is no added sugar there is no crash before lunch. This breakfast is great on days that I work-out for 3 hours and on recovery days when I don’t exercise or I just do cardio. Oh and its vegan if you use soy protein.

 

Protein Packed Oatmeal

Ingredients:

½ cup whole grain oats

1 cup water

1 scoop (or approximately 3 tablespoons) of chocolate protein powder (whey or soy)

½ teaspoon cinnamon

½ teaspoon vanilla

¼ cup dried cranberries or raisins

1 tablespoon sliced almonds (walnuts work great as well)

Directions:

  1. Combine oats and water in a microwave safe dish, and microwave on high for approximately 2 ½ minutes.
  2. Mix protein powder, cinnamon, vanilla, and cranberries into oatmeal. Sprinkle sliced almonds on top. Enjoy!
3 Comments

  1. ::sigh:: This looks delicious and for the past 2 weeks I’ve really gotten into exercising and this would be wonderful! My only problem is that I recently looked at a bunch of protein powders and they all had some sort of artificial sweetener 😦 Do you know of any that don’t?

    • And by the way good for you on exercising more!

  2. I have used Designer Whey Natural Whey (it uses stevia instead of artificial sweeteners) I really liked the Natural Designer Whey, I tried it in Chocolate. I have also heard good things about Gold Standard Natural Whey but haven’t tried it for myself yet. Currently I am in search of a soy protein powder with no added sweeteners.

    Another option for this recipe if you can’t find a protein powder you like is adding a teaspoon of cocoa powder to the water and oatmeal and then microwave the oatmeal. (Cocoa usually needs to be cooked, for me it helps prevent cocoa heartburn.) The dried cranberries keep it sweet, but if you want it sweeter you can add a teaspoon of sugar, maple syrup, or agave nectar. (The maple syrup is my favorite!)

    The other option is you can check out my Oatmeal Blondie which uses white beans as protein. And it kind of tastes like the dough for a blondie.

Leave a Reply

